friends [entries|archive|friends|userinfo]
littlereview

[ website | The Little Review ]
[ userinfo | insanejournal userinfo ]
[ archive | journal archive ]

Links
[Links:| LiveJournal / GreatestJournal / Twitter / Blogger / Wordpress / MySpace / Windows / Facebook / Journalfen / DeadJournal / Xanga / Shutterfly / YouTube / del.icio.us / Digg ]

Poem for Thursday and Renwick Gallery Glass [Jan. 18th, 2018|12:04 am]

littlereview
The Sea of Glass )

My Wednesday was a lot like my Tuesday except starting later because the neighborhood association contractors didn't plow our neighborhood as early as the county plowed the surrounding roads. I did some work stuff and chore stuff, had lunch with a friend, did some reading, saw bunnies in the snow.

After its terrible first episode, I am loving this season's The X-Files, which is like the show 20 years ago with three times the shipping. Then we caught up on The Gifted, which has gone from good to great, very first season Heroes! Here is some of the contemporary glass at the Renwick Gallery:

18rnwk13
Chihuly and Dreisbach )
LinkLeave a comment

Poem for Wednesday, Black Lightning, Great Falls [Jan. 17th, 2018|12:11 am]

littlereview
Colorado )

My Tuesday was pretty low key. I got some work done, I did a couple of laundries, I met friends for Kyogre raids (it took several tries and help catching but I finally have one). We were warned repeatedly of snow on Wednesday, though the total expected has shrunk from about two inches to a dusting, so I made sure we had toilet paper, too.

We watched The Flash, where I had no trouble believing in Nuclear Man but the courtroom stuff was too nonsensical to tolerate, then the premiere of Black Lightning, which was pretty great from the acting to cinematography to music. Here are some photos of Great Falls and the canal last weekend with Adam, who started at NASA today!

18gf2j3
Great Falls )
LinkLeave a comment

Poem for Tuesday and Son's New Wheels [Jan. 16th, 2018|12:06 am]

littlereview
Poems Done On A Late Night Car )

The big event of our Monday was going with Adam to pick up his first car, which he bought all by himself: a 2003 Hyundai Sonata that he basically needs to keep running for five months to get him to his NASA internship from his apartment in College Park and back again, plus some visits to Bethesda and downtown for his part-time programming job and weekend road trips (he is hoping it will survive his final year in college next year as well).

We went to Minerva for Indian food before getting the car and to Duck Donuts after we had also gone out to get an ice scraper and jumper cables for Adam, since we have snow in the forecast. After he packed up and headed for College Park, we had bagels for dinner since we were still kind of full from lunch, then watched Supergirl; we tried to watch last night's Madam Secretary too, but CBS had a freaking paywall so we caught up on The Gifted instead!

18acar5
Car and Driver )
LinkLeave a comment

Poem for Monday and Renwick Gallery [Jan. 15th, 2018|12:08 am]

littlereview
You Were You Are Elegy )

Adam's good friend Robert, whom those of you who have read this blog for a long time have seen in photos from track meets and school dances and vacations and college, lost his battle on Saturday with the brain tumor from which he has been suffering for several years. So we had a sad, distracted Sunday, though we did some nice things too. We had brunch with my parents, sister and niece, then we went downtown to the Renwick Gallery to see exhibits including Rick Araluce's The Final Stop, in which a gallery is filled with a model of an underground subway platform complete with sound and vibration; Murder Is Her Hobby, a collection of Frances Glessner Lee's miniature crime scenes to train homicide investigators; Parallax Gap, an architectural firm's experiment to portray iconic American buildings from skewed vantage points; and, from the permanent collection, Connections: Contemporary Craft at the Renwick Gallery:

18rnwk8
Downtown Art )


Adam took a nap in the late afternoon and I went out to pick up some DVDs about astronomy that a neighbor was freecycling, then we watched the end of the delightful Pittsburgh-Jacksonville game until the Jaguars had it well in hand. We went out to dinner after halftime of the Minnesota-New Orleans game, had lots of excellent Thai basil and orange tofu at Grand Fusion, then came home for the amazing end in which we thought the Vikings had it won, then thought the Saints had it won, then saw the Vikings win on the last play followed by chaos since the extra point had to be snapped if not kicked. We debated watching several serious dramas but decided we needed a mindless, shamefully rude movie and we ended up watching Tropic Thunder, which it's hard to say whether the movie is offensive or is just bang-on at pointing out and scoffing at things serious dramas do in Hollywood over and over that are offensive.
LinkLeave a comment

Placeholder for Sunday [Jan. 14th, 2018|12:31 am]

littlereview
After a fairly quiet morning, we went to Great Falls with Adam and had dinner with my sister and her oldest daughter at my parents' house, where we half-watched the NFL playoffs and stayed till nearly 10 p.m., but we also got some terrible news about a family friend while we were there so we're all having a sad, stressful night, so I will keep this short.

18jfam3
Family Saturday )
LinkLeave a comment

Poem for Saturday, Machine Learning, Painting Shakespeare [Jan. 13th, 2018|12:11 am]

littlereview
The Forward Violet Thus Did I Chide )

Paul's boss invited Adam to come speak to their work group about machine learning, so after morning chores and leftovers for lunch, we went to Paul's office, where Adam talked for an hour about how TensorFlow and Matlab are used to mine and process data and about his own research during jobs and internships at UMCP, Texas State, and the NIH (and starting next week at NASA) enabling computers to identify emotional expressions, evaluate images, and various mathematical things I don't dare try to explain. It was very interesting even for me who doesn't understand the math involved.

I stopped at the bank with Adam to pick up a cashier's check to pay for his new car, then he went to the Walk the Moon concert downtown with friends and I waited for Paul for dinner, then Blindspot (great this season) and Agents of SHIELD (started strong, now is juggling a lot of new characters I don't really care about, needs to refocus on the team). Plus we watched the pilot of The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel (free on Amazon Prime this weekend) to see if the Golden Globes were right, and we enjoyed it; will certainly watch some more. Some photos from the Folger Library's Painting Shakespeare exhibit last month:

17dcus45
Shakespeare Art )
LinkLeave a comment

Poem for Friday and USBG Monuments [Jan. 12th, 2018|12:01 am]

littlereview
Caged Bird )

Adam borrowed our car on Thursday morning to go put a down payment on what hopefully soon will be his car, so I worked until he got home, after which I went to meet Karen and Angela for lunch at Tara Thai. I hadn't seen them since before the holidays! Then Adam and I went to see Lady Bird since we had both read that it was great, though I have to admit that the screenplay, which is winning the bulk of the awards, seems a bit...well, full of coming-of-age cliches and elements more likely to ring the bells of adult critics than viewers the age of the protagonist. The acting pulls up the writing, but I know I'm old because I thought the mother was the best character.

Paul made jambalaya for dinner, which Maddy was here to eat with us. Then we were going to all watch a movie together, but Adam's jetlag caught up with him and he went to bed early. So instead we watched some 11th season Bones, which I am still liking even though everyone I know who was a fan was pretty burned out before this point. Now Adam is working on a presentation on deep learning for Paul's team at work. Here are some photos from December of the US Botanical Garden's annual display of models of the major DC monuments made out of natural materials and plant fibers, including the new African museum and accompanying holiday poinsettias:

17dcus35
Mini Monuments )
LinkLeave a comment

Poem for Thursday and Son's Trip to Israel [Jan. 11th, 2018|12:02 am]

littlereview
The Amen Stone )

This is a sleepy post because younger son arrived in D.C. around 6 a.m., so I have been awake for a lot of hours, though it's all good because he had a great trip and brought back lots of photos and stories. I went out briefly to take niece to CVS while son was in the shower, then son took the van to go look at cars because he needs to drive to his internship at NASA ([info]apaulled had the car at work) and I got some writing done, folded laundry, and did thrilling chores.

Rose stopped by to see us and the cats, then we went to dinner with my parents so they could see son (they brought in Thai food). He was exhausted before we finished dessert, so we came home, he went to bed, and I watched The X-Files, which I liked a whole lot better than the season premiere though knowing Gillian Anderson says she won't come back makes me hope it ends (and ends on a hopeful note) this season. Then we watched a special on black holes. From son's trip:

18aisrl9
From Israel )
LinkLeave a comment

Poem for Thursday and Son's Trip to Israel [Jan. 11th, 2018|12:02 am]

littlereview
The Amen Stone )

This is a sleepy post because Adam arrived in D.C. around 6 a.m., so I have been awake for a lot of hours, though it's all good because he had a great trip and brought back lots of photos and stories. I went out briefly to take Maddy to CVS while Adam was in the shower, then Adam took the van to go look at cars because he needs to drive to his internship at NASA (Paul had the car at work) and I got some writing done, folded laundry, and did thrilling chores.

Rose stopped by to see us and the cats, then we went to dinner with my parents so they could see Adam (they brought in Thai food). He was exhausted before we finished dessert, so we came home, he went to bed, and I watched The X-Files, which I liked a whole lot better than the season premiere though knowing Gillian Anderson says she won't come back makes me hope it ends (and ends on a hopeful note) this season. Then we watched a special on black holes. From Adam's trip:

18aisrl9
From Israel )
LinkLeave a comment

Poem for Wednesday, Blindspot, Walters Museum Faberge [Jan. 10th, 2018|12:18 am]

littlereview
I Loved You Once )

Adam is back in the U.S., though I have not seen him yet because his plane landed in Newark and he is taking an overnight bus to the D.C. area! And Daniel is back at work in Seattle, though he discovered he left some computer stuff here so I went to the post office to mail them back to him. This was fortuitous, as the post office is next to the mall, and when I went to see if any of my friends were raiding the Pokemon at the gym there, I got to see several people I haven't talked to in person since before Christmas and my friend Mel and I went out to lunch after we caught Groudon.

I still have not organized all the things left over from having older son here, and I'm trying to decide how much of Adam's stuff to clean up for him versus how much to leave where he left it before he gets home; I could ask him, but right now we're discussing President Winfrey over Messenger instead. Paul and I just caught up on four episodes of Blindspot so we're ready for the new season. From the Walters Art Museum's Faberge exhibit, here are some items owned and commissioned by the Russian royal family:

17wltr18
The Czar's Treasures )
LinkLeave a comment

Poem for Tuesday and Cold Great Falls [Jan. 9th, 2018|12:06 am]

littlereview
Flaming June )

We sent Daniel back to Seattle on Monday -- my mother drove to Dulles, much to my gratitude because since they started the Metro work I absolutely hate that drive! He has already landed and is getting settled with his new MAGFest art and warmer weather. Meanwhile Adam is flying back to the US from Israel in a few hours, though I think they snuck out to the beach late at night one last time.

We had sleet and freezing rain on and off all afternoon and evening, so I stayed in after dropping off Daniel and Paul worked from home in the late afternoon because so many people had left to pick up their kids from early dismissal. Now we're hoping Georgia keeps beating Alabama in the championship! From Great Falls on Sunday, some photos of ice on the river, since the canal had been drained to protect it:

18gfja11
Wintry River )
LinkLeave a comment

Poem for Monday, Icy Falls, Golden Globes [Jan. 8th, 2018|12:11 am]

littlereview
The Spell of the Yukon )

Another quickie because Daniel is flying back to Seattle on Monday and we're watching the Golden Globe Awards, which have been political and sarcastic and, if nothing else, have not dragged, though I didn't see most of the TV award winners or the frontrunners for Best Picture (I love Allison Janney, I think Gary Oldman was phenomenal in Darkest Hour, I think The Handmaid's Tale should win everything for which it is ever nominated, I can't feel good for Ewan in the midst of his cheating scandal, but I have to admit the winner that made me happiest was Alexandre Desplat's soundtrack award because he is too often overlooked). Here are photos of the rest of my day:

18gfja3
Cold Sunday )
LinkLeave a comment

Greetings from Maryland [Jan. 7th, 2018|12:48 am]

littlereview
Saturday was very, very cold. Paul had no desire to be out walking in the weather, so I only ventured out when I had places I needed to be or Sevipers I needed to catch. We watched North Dakota State beat JMU in the FCS Championship and Tennessee beat Kansas City in their NFL wild card game, though I was doing other things while sports was on, and Maddy was in and out. After dinner we went to pick up Daniel from National Harbor and hung out watching the Atlanta-L.A. game. A few pics:

18-1-6-1
Cold Saturday )
LinkLeave a comment

Poem for Saturday and USBG Trains [Jan. 6th, 2018|12:01 am]

littlereview
Cold Poem )

It was miserably cold on Friday -- again, not as bad as many other places, but cold enough to make me want to spend as little time outdoors as possible. I drove Maddy to work, met friends inside the mall, and did a Groudon raid, but otherwise I spent the day working indoors!

We had dinner with my parents, then came home and watched the US figure skating women's championship, which was quite good this year (Bradie, Mirai, Karen, Ashley, Starr!). Have some photos from last month of the US Botanical Garden's Roadside America miniature train display:

17dcus21
American Travel )
LinkLeave a comment

Poem for Friday, National Harbor, X-Files [Jan. 5th, 2018|12:08 am]

littlereview
Suffering the Unattainable )

As predicted, we got snow overnight, and though it was not nearly as much as my sister Nicole got in New York or my friends in Pennsylvania, it closed local schools and backed up local roads. So we got a later start than we had expected getting Daniel to the Gaylord National for MAGFest, though it was a nice ride with the Potomac River dramatically frozen past the shores and the stone circles of the National Harbor complex. When we got home, Paul went into the office (he had worked from home in the snow in the morning) and I did a bunch of cleanup chores put off while the kids were here, the most ridiculous of which was unpacking our wedding china -- yes really -- because we decided it was ridiculous we weren't using it at this point instead of keeping it packed away in case some day we have formal dinner parties.

18nhar4
Harbor Stones )


After dinner we watched the first episode of the new season of The X-Files, which we'd missed the night before at the movies with Daniel. I don't know what to say about it except that Chris Carter is a massive troll, whether or not the revelations of this episode prove to be true (given that they negate not only the events of last season but things that have been shown or implied for more than a decade). Fake news jokes are one thing, but when you start a season by showing how the moon landing was faked, you better either be preparing to reverse course and cement everything your viewers thought was true by the end of the season or be prepared to have both old and new viewers abandon your franchise, leaving you only with right wing conspiracy loons as your legacy. You get one more week to stop screwing with fans!
LinkLeave a comment

navigation
[ viewing | most recent entries ]